There is surprisingly little that’s vintage left in the old town of Ladner. This, though, is one of three
area garages — along with West Van’s Dundarave and Steveston’s Marine — that looks like a location on the old trucker movie They Drive By Night. It opened in 1937, burned down in 1946 and reopened the same year (The Province paper, Sunday,November 5, 2006). To this day the building is still being utilized for its original purpose.
From 1945 – 2002 (57 years) the garage was owned and operated by a local family the Oeuvray’s. Ladner Motors provided complete automotive and tractor repairs and service along with being the Chevron dealer for many years. The Oeuvrays maintained a high standard of workmanship and became very respected and trusted in the community. Throughout their years of service the shop became a familiar stop for many customers to just drop by for a visit and a little chat.
In 2002 another local family The Clifford’s took over the operation of the business. Their goal was to maintain the reputation that Ladner Motors was known for. In 2003 the shop became a BCAA approved facility. The Clifford’s know the importance of keeping abreast with today’s technology – having the latest in diagnostic equipment and the experience of certified mechanics to do the job right.